Home Announcements The Fatouros Prize

The Fatouros Prize

The next Arghyrios Fatouros Prize will be awarded in 2015.

The ILA Hellenic Branch has established the “Arghyrios Fatouros” Prize, dedicated to the memory of Professor emeritus Arghyrios Fatouros, first President and Honorary President of the Branch. The Prize will be awarded on a biennial basis to the best thesis, monograph or published work of a young scholar in the field of International Economic Law.
The conditions for participation are the following:
Candidates should be Greek citizens or of Greek descent.
Candidates should be up to 40 years of age on 1 January 2014.
Candidates must submit their work in electronic form, with an executive summary, a full CV and list of publications, to the following address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Candidatures must reach the Hellenic Branch by 31 December 2014.
The 2013 Arghyrios Fatouros Prize was awarded on 22 February 2013 to Dr. Thomas Nektarios Papanastasiou for his Ph.D. thesis entitled:
The legal protection of foreign investments against political risk: 
The case of Japanese investments in the power sector of Asian countries
Dr. Papanastasiou graduated from the University of Athens, where he also completed an LL.M. in Civil Procedure.  He continued his studies at the Waseda University Tokyo, where he received an M.A. in International Economic Relations and his Ph.D. in International Investment Law from the Graduate School of Asia Pacific Studies. He is recipient of the Monbusho Scholarship by the Japanese Ministry of Education.      
Image Gallery